Blundering officials sent home
Referees Jorge Larrionda and Roberto Rosetti will take no further part in the World Cup following their high-profile errors in Sunday's second-round fixtures.
FIFA apologises for bad calls
Larrionda failed to recognise that a shot from Frank Lampard had clearly crossed the line in England's 4-1 defeat at the hands of Germany while Rosetti wrongly awarded a goal to Argentina in their win over Mexico despite the fact that Carlos Tevez was visibly offside.
The two mistakes have led FIFA president Sepp Blatter to apologise to the English and Mexican associations and say it would "be a nonsense to not reopen the file of technology" when the International FA Board meets in July.
However, it will be goal-line technology that is on the agenda and not the more general use of video replays.
The debate over the application of technology will continue for some weeks, but for Larrionda and Rosetti the immediate implications of their mistakes are clear.
Mali's Koman Coulibaly, who famously disallowed a winning goal for USA against Slovenia, and France's Stephane Lannoy, who harshly dismissed Kaka when he was the victim of Kader Keita's playacting against Ivory Coast, have also been sent home.