Parreira escapes FIFA action
FIFA has decided against punishing South Africa coach Carlos Alberto Parreira after he slammed referee Massimo Busacca following a 3-0 at the hands of Uruguay in Pretoria, a result that leaves Bafana Bafana's hopes of qualification hanging by a thread.
Uruguay took the lead through a deflected 25-yard shot from Diego Forlan, who then doubled his side's advantage from the penalty spot ten minutes from time after an incident which saw home goalkeeper Itumeleng Khune sent off.
Khune clipped Luis Suarez as the Uruguay striker attempted to round him, and although the South Africa goalkeeper protested his innocence, he was shown a red card. Alvaro Pereira then wrapped up the victory for Uruguay with a third goal in stoppage time.
Following the defeat Parreira launched a scathing attack on the Swiss official and when asked if he felt the red card given to Khune was too harsh, the South Africa boss said: "I haven't seen it properly because there were some players in the way, (but) the players are really annoyed, very angry and very disappointed in the referee.
"Myself and everyone else said it was the worst refereeing performance in this competition so far. He was very unfair against our team from the very beginning, the way he acted against our team.
"He was giving fouls that weren't fouls, giving yellows that weren't yelllows and then he left the ground with a smile on his face. I hope we don't see his face again in this tournament because he doesn't deserve to be here."
However, FIFA will not take any action against Parreira as it decided there were no grounds to pursue disciplinary action.
"Yes, we have looked at it and no elements have been found by the disciplinary committee to open an investigation,'' spokesman Nicolas Maingot said. "This is because there was no violation of the FIFA disciplinary code."
Uruguay coach Oscar Tabarez took a different view on proceedings to Parreira, though, insisting his side deserved victory.
"In an earlier press conference I said I never talk about the referees, I talk about the circumstances of the game," he said. "I think there were other instances of penalties that the referee didn't notice, but these are circumstances of the game.
"I certainly can't agree and I even laugh at the suggestion that Uruguay maybe won this game thanks to the referee, because I think we dominated the game throughout.
"But I didn't come to the press conference for that, I'm not here to talk about the referee or discuss my colleague's opinions, but in my view Uruguay won the game deservedly."