Division Two

March 27, 2013


Brechin City

0 - 6

Queen of the South

Division Two

19:45 +00:00, March 27, 2013

Station Park, Scotland

Referee: Barry Cook

Doonhamers dominate to lift title

Queen of the South were crowned Scottish Second Division champions after a stunning first-half performance helped them hammer 10-man Brechin 6-0.

The visitors needed just 18 seconds to break the deadlock as Nicholas Clark fired into the top corner from 12 yards, before Michael Paton doubled his side's advantage with an 18-yard strike two minutes later.

Ewan Moyes then diverted Christopher Mitchell's cross into his own net from 12 yards to make it 3-0 inside 18 minutes.

Paton netted his second from 20 yards in the 36th minute and Clark capped off a dominant 45 minutes by taking his tally to 33 for the season with a close-range finish three minutes before the interval.

After hitting the post in the 54th minute, Gavin Reilly got his name on the scoresheet three minutes later from six yards.

And to make matters worse for third-placed Brechin, they were reduced to 10 men with 14 minutes remaining when Gerard McLauchlan was dismissed for a second bookable offence.

Scoring Summary

Brechin City Queen of the South
 Nicky Clark (1')
 Michael Paton (3')
 Ewan Moyes (og 18')
 Michael Paton (36')
 Nicky Clark (42')
 Gavin Reilly (57')


Brechin City Queen of the South
Michael AndrewsLee Robinson
7 Alan TroutenChris Higgins
Graham HayChris Mitchell
2 Gerry McLaughlanMark Durnan
Ewan MoyesPaul Burns
3 Paul McLeanSteven McKenna
Garry Brady10 Nicky Clark
6 Gary FuscoKevin Holt
10 David McKenna11 Michael Paton
11 Derek CarcaryDaniel Carmichael
Andrew JacksonGavin Reilly
20 Craig NelsonJim Atkinson 12
14 Alex PursehouseRyan McGuffie 14
15 Ryan StewartDerek Young 16
12 Jonathan StewartWilliam Gibson 17
16 Aaron MurdochDerek Lyle 15
Alex Pursehouse for Ewan Moyes (55)
Ryan McGuffie for Mark Durnan (58)
Jonathan Stewart for David McKenna (58)
William Gibson for Daniel Carmichael (66)
Ryan Stewart for Derek Carcary (71)
Derek Lyle for Nicky Clark (78)
Yellow Cards
Alan Trouten (13)
Steven McKenna (60)
Gerry McLaughlan (41)
Alex Pursehouse (79)
Red Cards
Gerry McLaughlan (76)
· Squads: Brechin City | Queen of the South