African Nations Cup

January 20, 2013



1 - 0


Group B

18:00 +00:00, January 20, 2013

Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium

Referee: Slim Jedidi

Keita secures first win in ANC

#INSERT type:video subtype:lead caption: END#

Mali secured the first victory in this year's African Nations Cup with an uninspiring 1-0 win over Niger in Port Elizabeth.

Both of Saturday's ties finished goalless and Ghana and DR Congo drew 2-2 earlier today, but Mali finally overcame stubborn resistance from Niger to go top of Group B on three points.

Seydou Keita was the hero for Mali, steering home the winner in the 84th minute after seeing an earlier shot come back off the post.

Chances were at a premium in a poor first half, with Niger coming closest to opening the scoring when Kofi Dankwa's volley brought an excellent save from Mali goalkeeper Mamadou Samassa.

At the other end, Nice midfielder Mahamane Traore tried his luck from long range with a powerful drive which flew just wide of the post.

Both managers will have been glad of the half-time interval to make some tactical changes and the contest did improve in the second period.

The impressive Keita brought a good save from Kassaly Daouda with a left-footed drive from 20 yards, while Mali substitute Mahamadou Samassa wasted a good chance from 12 yards on 64 minutes when he could only fire into the side-netting.

A third 0-0 draw of the tournament looked on the cards when chances continued to be squandered, with Niger's Moussa Maazou rising superbly to meet a cross from Issoufou Boubacar but heading over the bar.

Keita then saw his shot from the edge of the area come back off the top of the post, but the former Barcelona midfielder was not to be denied.

With time running out, Niger goalkeeper Daouda came out for a cross but succeeded only in dropping the ball at Keita's feet and he calmly steered his shot home for a deserved winner.

Scoring Summary

Mali Niger
Seydou Keita (84') 


Mali Niger
1 Mamadou Samassa16 Kassaly Daouda
Adama Tamboura18 Kaffi Kowa
Fousseni Diawara19 Issiaka Koudize
21 Mahamadou N'Diaye23 Mohamed Soumaila
13 Molla Wague21 Mohamed Bachar
12 Seydou Keita13 Mohammed Chicoto
11 Sigamary Diarra8 Kourouma Fatoukoma
17 Mahamane TraoreKarim Lancina
Kalilou Traore14 Boubacar Issoufou
Cheick DiabateOuwo Moussa Maazou
Cheick Mady Diarra7 Modibo Sidibe
16 Soumaila DiakiteRabo Saminou 22
22 Ali YirangoMoussa Toldo Almouza 1
Adama CoulibalyIsmael Alassane 15
Idrissa CoulibalyAmadou Kader 4
19 Salif CoulibalyLucky James 5
Mohamed SissokoLaoisali Idrissa 6
18 Samba SowSouleyamane Sako 12
14 Sambou YatabaréBoubacar Talatou 10
20 Samba DiakitéWilliam N'Gounou 17
15 Mamadou SamassaMoutari Amadou 20
10 Modibo MaígaKamilou Daouda 9
Issoufou Dante 11
Mamadou Samassa for Cheick Mady Diarra (46)
Boubacar Talatou for Boubacar Issoufou (78)
Mohamed Sissoko for Kalilou Traore (63)
Issoufou Dante for Issiaka Koudize (88)
Samba Diakité for Sigamary Diarra (79)
Yellow Cards
Mamadou Samassa (90)
Mohamed Soumaila (48)
 Boubacar Issoufou (75)
· Squads: Mali | Niger