African Nations Cup

January 19, 2013


South Africa

0 - 0

Cape Verde Islands

Group A

16:00 +00:00, January 19, 2013

FNB Stadium, South Africa

Referee: Djamel Haimoudi

Hosts held

#INSERT type:video subtype:lead caption: END#

South Africa began their African Nations Cup campaign in disappointing fashion as Cape Verde Islands came closest to scoring at Soccer City in Johannesburg.

The hosts were disappointing against a side who had defeated Cameroon 3-2 on aggregate to reach the finals.

Luis Platini had the best chance of the first half of the Group A encounter for the Blue Sharks, who then saw Helton denied after the break by South Africa goalkeeper Itumeleng Khune.

Ryan Mendes had the first shot of the game but the Cape Verde striker fired wide from 20 yards.

Cape Verde goalkeeper Josimar Vozinha then made hard work of a free-kick from Siphiwe Tshabalala.

Platini shot wide when well placed as Cape Verde continued to look for the opening.

Kagisho Dikgacoi was then penalised for a foul on Platini but Ramos Nhuck fired the free-kick over.

Elvis Babanco saw his shot go wide as Cape Verde continued to try their luck, Platini also missing and Dikgacoi off target as chances came at each end.

Cape Verde were awarded a free-kick but Babanco shot straight at keeper Khune, Mendes then shooting wide from close range.

South Africa's Lerato Chabangu came on for Dikgacoi at half-time and was in the action inside five minutes but shot over from close range.

Cape Verde went close with 18 minutes to go as Helton headed Babanco's cross towards goal but Khune got down low to his left to scramble the ball round the post.

In a rare South Africa attack Thulani Serero failed to control the ball with five minutes to go after being put in behind the Cape Verde defence.

South Africa's best chance came in injury time from a Lerato Chabangu corner to the near post - but captain Bongani Khumalo put his free header well over.

Scoring Summary

South Africa Cape Verde Islands


South Africa Cape Verde Islands
16 Itumeleng KhuneJosimar Diaz Vozinha
21 Siyabonga SangweniNando
14 Bongani KhumaloFernando Varela
5 Anele Ngcongca8 Toni Varela
11 Thabo Matlaba18 Nivaldo
Siphiwe Tshabalala23 Emanuel Carlitos
18 Thuso Phala15 Paulo Silva Marco Soares
13 Kagisho DikgacoiBabanco
12 Reneilwe Letsholonyane7 Luis Carlos Platini
17 Bernard Parker20 Ryan Mendes
7 Micheal Majoro10 Héldon
1 Wayne SandilandsFock 12
22 Senzo MeyiwaRilly 16
Siboniso GaxaJosimar 13
Tsepo MasilelaGege 14
Thabo NthethePecks 19
Lerato ChabanguGuy Ramos 4
15 Dean FurmanDavid Silva 22
10 Thulani SereroNivaldo Stenio Santos 2
20 Oupa ManyisaSouto Ronny 17
19 May MahlanguDjaniny 21
Katlego MphelaJulio Tavares 11
23 Tokelo RantieRambe 9
Lerato Chabangu for Kagisho Dikgacoi (46)
Julio Tavares for Luis Carlos Platini (63)
Thulani Serero for Siphiwe Tshabalala (60)
David Silva for Héldon (76)
Katlego Mphela for Micheal Majoro (69)
Souto Ronny for Ryan Mendes (85)
Yellow Cards
Anele Ngcongca (44)
Luis Carlos Platini (60)
· Squads: South Africa | Cape Verde Islands