Division Two

December 18, 2012


Albion Rovers

2 - 3

Forfar Athletic

Division Two

19:45 +00:00, December 18, 2012

Cliftonhill Stadium, Scotland

Referee: J McKendrick

Sellars rocks Albion

Substitute Barry Sellars netted an injury-time winner as Forfar overcame Scottish Division Two basement-boys Albion 3-2.

Sellars, introduced at the break, volleyed in from 18 yards to earn the Loons only their second win in eight matches and ended a run of three straight defeats on their travels.

Forfar made a lightning start when James Craigen put them in front after just 29 seconds, lashing a pass from Ross Campbell into the top corner from 12 yards.

Gavin Swankie then had an effort tipped round a post by Albion keeper Matthew McGinley but he played a part in helping the visitors double their advantage in the 24th minute as he teed up Craigen for a second.

Albion hauled themselves back into the game with two goals in the final 10 minutes of the first half.

Chris Boyle opened his account for the season with a fine finish into the bottom corner from 12 yards following good work from Christie Elliot, who then set up Steven Howarth for the equaliser five minutes before the break with an 18-yard finish.

McGinley pulled off a number of saves in the final quarter of the match but was finally beaten at the death by Sellars.

Scoring Summary

Albion Rovers Forfar Athletic
Chris Boyle (35')James Craigen (1')
Steven Howarth (40')James Craigen (24')
 Barry Sellars (90')


Albion Rovers Forfar Athletic
1 Matthew McGinleyJack Hamilton
5 Kevin Green2 Mark McCulloch
3 Barry Russell4 Michael Bolochoweckyj
Ciaran DonnellyIain Campbell
11 Gary. Phillips5 Stephen Tulloch
2 Alan Reid10 Gavin Swankie
8 Chris BoyleJames Craigen
4 Bradley HalsmanWilliam Robertson
David Crawford9 Chris Templeman
10 Steven Howarth7 Ross Campbell
Christie Elliot11 Dale Hilson
17 Ryan McWilliamsDavid Scott 17
15 Anthony StevensonMartyn Fotheringham 16
14 Connor StevensonBarry Sellars 12
16 Jason CrooksKevin Motion 14
12 Ryan TiffenyCharlie King 15
Anthony Stevenson for Chris Boyle (67)
Barry Sellars for Michael Bolochoweckyj (46)
Connor Stevenson for Bradley Halsman (75)
Martyn Fotheringham for William Robertson (69)
 Charlie King for Ross Campbell (78)
Yellow Cards
 William Robertson (27)
· Squads: Albion Rovers | Forfar Athletic