Scottish Cup

December 1, 2012



0 - 1


Scottish Cup

15:00 +00:00, December 1, 2012

Ochilview Park, Scotland

Referee: M Northcroft

Striker Duffie delights Falkirk

Falkirk edged past local rivals Stenhousemuir 1-0 to reach the fifth round.

Kieran Duffie's ninth minute goal separated the sides as the First Division club avoided an upset.

Duffie collected Stewart Murdoch's pass and rifled a low left-footed drive past Callum Reidford from 12 yards.

The striker was denied a second as his well-struck effort from the edge of the area was well held by Reidford in the 23rd minute.

Sean Dickson went closest to forcing a first-half equaliser but his header was straight at Michael McGovern.

Conor McGrandles and Thomas Grant were both denied by Reidford in the second period, while Darren Smith's header flashed just wide for the home side with 11 minutes left.

Falkirk successfully saw out the remaining time to secure their safe passage to the next round.

Scoring Summary

Stenhousemuir Falkirk
 Kieran Duffy (9')


Stenhousemuir Falkirk
Calum ReidfordMichael McGovern
Greg RossDarren Dods
Kevin McKinlayJonathan Flynn
4 Scott Buist Kieran Duffy
5 Ross McMillanStephen Kingsley
8 Ian ThomsonStuart Murdoch
Bryan Hodge10 Jay Fulton
7 Sean Dickson11 Conor McGrandles
10 Stewart KeanThomas Grant
11 Darren Lee SmithLyle Taylor
9 Andy RodgersCraig Sibbald
17 Dean ShawGraham Bowman 17
14 Brown FergusonRyan McGeever 12
12 Eric PatonBlair Alston 14
16 Jamie O'GradySean Higgins 15
15 Craig AndersonLewis Small 16
Craig Anderson for Ian Thomson (84)
Blair Alston for Jay Fulton (36)
Eric Paton for Sean Dickson (88)
Ryan McGeever for Jonathan Flynn (46)
 Sean Higgins for Lyle Taylor (90)
Yellow Cards
Ian Thomson (13)
Conor McGrandles (13)
Scott Buist (64)
Craig Sibbald (73)
Calum Reidford (82)
Greg Ross (90)
Andy Rodgers (90)
Kevin McKinlay (90)
· Squads: Stenhousemuir | Falkirk