English FA Cup

November 14, 2012



0 - 2

Leyton Orient

English FA Cup

19:45 +00:00, November 14, 2012

Abbey Business Stadium

Referee: S Rushton

Orient leave it late to progress

Late goals from David Mooney and Dean Cox booked Leyton Orient's safe passage into the second round of the FA Cup as they secured a 2-0 win over non-league Gloucester.

Orient will travel to Blue Square Bet Premier club Alfreton in the next round after finally breaking the Tigers' resistance - as they held out until the 87th minute before capitulating.

Blue Square Bet North club Gloucester made the brighter start and after a corner from Lewis Hogg in the second minute, Darren Edwards saw an effort hacked off the line by Jimmy Smith.

Npower League One side Orient grew in stature as the half wore on and only some fine goalkeeping from Mike Green kept them out.

He first denied Cox with a smart reaction stop in the 41st minute and Ryan Brunt then saw a miscued header bounce back off the frame of the goal before the goalkeeper saved well from Mooney two minutes before the break.

Orient always looked the most likely winners in the second half as Gloucester began to tire and Green was finally beaten with three minutes to go as Mooney nodded home Cox's cross.

And Cox himself capitalised on a mistake from Matt Coupe straight from the restart to spare Orient's blushes.

Scoring Summary

Gloucester Leyton Orient
 David Mooney (87')
 Dean Cox (88')


Gloucester Leyton Orient
Chris Holland16 Ryan Allsopp
Matthew Coupe15 Nathan Clarke
Mike GreenGary Sawyer
5 Tom HamblinMathieu Baudry
11 Jack Harris17 Moses Odubajo
Lewis HoggAnthony Griffith
6 Tom WebbDean Cox
Jordan Goddard11 Jimmy Smith
Darren Edwards23 Lloyd James
10 Mitch Harding39 David Mooney
26 Ryan Brunt
14 Jordan Tillson
19 Neil MustoeJamie Jones 1
16 Matt LiddiardBen Chorley 4
17 Sam RawlingsLee Cook 21
18 Adam MannMartin Rowlands 22
15 Steve DaviesLeon McSweeney 2
12 Will MorfordKevin Lisbie 9
 Michael Symes 10
Will Morford for Mitch Harding (54)
Leon McSweeney for Moses Odubajo (57)
Steve Davies for Jordan Goddard (59)
Kevin Lisbie for Ryan Brunt (60)
Jordan Tillson for Jack Harris (89)
Martin Rowlands for Jimmy Smith (86)
Yellow Cards
Lewis Hogg (48)
· Squads: Gloucester | Leyton Orient