English FA Cup

November 3, 2012


Cheltenham Town

3 - 0


English FA Cup

15:00 +00:00, November 3, 2012

Abbey Business Stadium

Referee: David Phillips

Robins in the hat

A cruel own goal, a Kaid Mohamed header and an injury-time Chris Zebroski strike were enough to take Cheltenham into the second round of the FA Cup as minnows Yate Town were beaten 3-0.

But non-leaguers Yate, the lowest-ranked side remaining in the competition, were far from disgraced and caused their League Two hosts a number of anxious moments.

The opening goal came after just three minutes when a Tom Warren clearance hit fellow Yate defender Scott Thomas and rebounded into the net.

The Southern League side came back strongly and were denied by the woodwork twice in three minutes, Tom Knigton heading against a post before Jake Cox hit the crossbar with a 25-yard free-kick.

But as the first half went on Yate goalkeeper Josh Dempsey was called into action time and time again. He denied Lawson D'Ath and Shaun Harrod midway through the half before palming a 30-yard Russell Penn effort over the bar.

The second half saw Sido Jombati denied by another good save before Cheltenham's pressure finally told when Mohamed headed home a Billy Jones corner after 65 minutes.

Substitute Jeff Goulding put a two-yard effort over and Zebroski hit the visitors' woodwork before then netted a third goal in injury time.

Scoring Summary

Cheltenham Town Yate
Scott Thomas (og 3') 
Kaid Mohamed (65') 
Chris Zebroski (90') 


Cheltenham Town Yate
Scott P Brown1 Josh Dempsey
Billy Jones2 Tom Warren
15 Alan Bennett5 Scott Thomas
Keith Lowe8 Edd Vahid
22 Sido Jombarti3 Jacob Cox
16 Russell PennDanny Wring
Sam Deering11 James Harmer
20 Lawson D'Ath7 Matt Groves
23 Kaid Mohamed4 Harley Purnell
14 Shaun Harrad9 Mitchell Page
Darryl Duffy10 Tom Knigton
12 Connor RobertsLubos Ancin 19
17 Danny AndrewRob Cousins 16
Marlon PackOllie Price 17
11 Jermaine McGlashanMike Bryant 15
34 Joe HanksMichael Meaker 12
10 Jeff GouldingAdnam Hiroli 14
26 Chris ZebroskiIbu Sarr 18
Marlon Pack for Lawson D'Ath (46)
Michael Meaker for James Harmer (73)
Jeff Goulding for Darryl Duffy (61)
Adnam Hiroli for Mitchell Page (88)
Chris Zebroski for Shaun Harrad (61)
Mike Bryant for Harley Purnell (88)
· Squads: Cheltenham Town | Yate