English FA Cup

November 3, 2012


Met Police

1 - 2

Crawley Town

English FA Cup

15:00 +00:00, November 3, 2012

Referee: T Kettle

Clarke helps Crawley sneak past Police

Crawley striker Billy Clarke bagged his fifth goal of the season to dump Met Police out of the FA Cup - but they were forced to hold off a late fightback from the non-league outfit.

Goals from Josh Simpson and Clarke had put Richie Barker's men in command at Imber Court and all but booked their place in the next round.

Alan Tait's goal eight minutes from time for the Blues worried Crawley but they clung on to avoid a replay.

Four leagues separated the Ryman Premier minnows and the promotion chasing League One side and the gulf in quality showed early on as Dannie Bulman rattled the bar.

Sergio Torres then had an effort palmed away before Simpson broke the deadlock on 36 minutes, latching on to Michael Jones' throughball and poking past keeper Jamie Butler.

The Blues did improve after the break with Howard Newton forcing a smart save from Paul Jones and Craig Brown dragging an effort wide.

Clarke then looked to have made Crawley's progression into round two certain when he tapped home a second on 70 minutes.

Tait pulled one back after Brown's effort had come back off the bar but despite late pressure, which saw Newton hit the post, Crawley held on.

Scoring Summary

Met Police Crawley Town
Alan Tait (83')Josh Simpson (36')
 Billy Clarke (69')


Met Police Crawley Town
1 Jamie ButlerPaul Jones
Joe Dolan12 Joe Walsh
Jay LovettKyle McFadzean
10 Chris BourneMark Connolly
Billy Crook19 Nathan Byrne
5 Steve Sutherland15 Dannie Bulman
7 Craig BrownBilly Clarke
Matt SmartSergio Torres
Tyrone Smith21 Mike Jones
9 Alan Tait11 Josh Simpson
11 Howard NewtonGary Alexander
16 James TyrellMichel Kuipers 25
17 Tom McNeilDavid Hunt 13
14 Elliott TaylorMathew Sadler 3
12 Jordan BirdCharlie Wassmer 20
15 Oliver LockyerShaun Cooper 18
19 Bobby BennettNicky Adams 16
18 Staforde PalmerJohn Akinde 17
Elliott Taylor for Billy Crook (75)
Mathew Sadler for Nathan Byrne (27)
Staforde Palmer for Joe Dolan (76)
Nicky Adams for Sergio Torres (64)
 John Akinde for Mike Jones (80)
Yellow Cards
Howard Newton (74)
Dannie Bulman (49)
Tyrone Smith (90)
Joe Walsh (66)
Jamie Butler (90)
Mark Connolly (87)
· Squads: Met Police | Crawley Town