Europa League

November 8, 2012


Hannover 96

3 - 2


Group L

20:05 +00:00, November 8, 2012

AWD-Arena, Hannover, Germany

Referee: Fredy Fautrel

Huszti is spot on for Hannover

Szabolcs Huszti kept his nerve to fire home a late penalty and secure a 3-2 victory and Hannover's qualification for the UEFA Europa League knockout stages at the expense of nine-man Helsingborg.

Huszti scored an 88th-minute spot-kick whose award for a foul on Artur Sobiech so enraged the visitors they had both Peter Larsson and Walid Atta sent off for protesting.

And the goal proved enough for the Germans to guarantee their progression after group rivals Twente and Levante played out a goalless draw in Holland.

Hannover looked set to coast to victory after two Mame Biram Diouf goals gave them a comfortable 2-0 lead.

Diouf opened the scoring after three minutes when he converted a cross from Huszti, and threatened to increase his lead when he headed straight at visiting keeper Par Hansson in the 11th minute.

He came close again seven minutes later and Didier Konan fired over, but the Swedes briefly rallied at the start of the second half with Atta narrowly missing with a close-range header.

Diouf made it 2-0 after 50 minutes when he headed home a Lars Stindl cross, but Helsingborg hit back nine minutes later when Nikola Djurdjic got on the end of a cross by Mattias Lindstrom to give them hope.

The Swedes snatched their equaliser in the 66th minute when Christoffer Andersson's free-kick was only half-cleared and Alejandro Bedoya found the net from 12 yards.

Both sides had chances to win it before the late drama that started when Lindstrom was ruled to have fouled Sobiech in the box, sparking a furious response from the visitors.

Scoring Summary

Hannover 96 Helsingborg
Mame Biram Diouf (3')Nikola Djurdjic (59')
Mame Biram Diouf (50')Alejandro Bedoya (68')
Szabolcs Huszti (pen 90') 


Hannover 96 Helsingborg
Ron-Robert Zieler30 Pär Hansson
Steve Cherundolo26 Peter Larsson
19 Christian SchulzWalid Atta
Karim Haggui6 May Mahlangu
Mario Eggimann28 Jere Uronen
10 Szabolcs Huszti7 Mattias Lindstrom
34 Konstantin Rausch21 Christoffer Andersson
28 Lars StindlArdian Gashi
Manuel Schmiedebach20 Alejandro Bedoya
11 Didier Ya Konan13 Rachid Bouaouzan
39 Mame Biram Diouf18 Nikola Djurdjic
14 Markus MillerDaniel Andersson 1
24 Christian PanderErlend Hanstveit 24
Hiroki SakaiEmil Krafth 15
13 Jan SchlaudraffDaniel Nordmark 5
22 Nikci AdrianDavid Accam 25
Artur SobiechAlvaro Marcio Dos Santos 10
25 Mohammed AbdellaoueThomas Sorum 11
Jan Schlaudraff for Didier Ya Konan (71)
Alvaro Marcio Dos Santos for Rachid Bouaouzan (46)
Christian Pander for Konstantin Rausch (73)
Erlend Hanstveit for Jere Uronen (84)
Artur Sobiech for Mame Biram Diouf (87)
David Accam for Mattias Lindstrom (90)
Yellow Cards
Lars Stindl (66)
Mattias Lindstrom (28)
 Alejandro Bedoya (75)
Red Cards
 Walid Atta (88)
 Peter Larsson (90)
· Squads: Hannover 96 | Helsingborg