Europa League

October 4, 2012



2 - 2

Twente Enschede

Group L

17:00 +00:00, October 4, 2012

Olympia Stadion, Sweden

Referee: B Madden

Twente claim point in historic contest

Hosts Helsingborg threw away a two-goal lead as FC Twente came from behind to snatch a 2-2 draw in their 100th UEFA Cup and UEFA Europa League game.

Nikola Djurdjic opened the scoring for the home side in the seventh minute with a well-taken header before he doubled the Swedish champions' lead two minutes before the break.

Rasmus Bengtsson pulled one back for Steve McClaren's side in the 74th minute before Douglas levelled the score with two minutes left on the clock to deny the Swede's their first win in Group L.

Djurdjic got the home side off to the perfect start when he climbed to reach May Mahlangu's cross from the right in the early stages, beating Twente keeper Nikolay Mihailov.

It marked a period of dominance by Helsingborg, who then saw several chances go begging in the first half.

Mattias Lindstrom's right-footed volley missed Mihailov's right post before Christoffer Andersson's inswinging corner forced a clearance by Twente defender Douglas.

Helsingborg midfielder Alejandro Bedoya then saw his shot caught by Mihailov before Twente had their first real chance at the other end, when Luc Castaignos forced a save from goalkeeper Par Hansson.

However, it was Djurdjic who again made the breakthrough in the 43rd minute with a mishit strike from the edge of the area.

Robbert Schilder almost pulled one back for Twente early in the second half but his shot hit the bar before Bengtsson's headed goal gave the Dutch side hope with 15 minutes to play.

Douglas then found the back of Hansson's net in the dying minutes as the Eredivisie side managed to salvage a point just before the final whistle.

Scoring Summary

Helsingborg Twente Enschede
Nikola Djurdjic (7')Rasmus Bengtsson (74')
Nikola Djurdjic (43')Douglas Franco (88')


Helsingborg Twente Enschede
30 Pär Hansson13 Nikolay Mihaylov
26 Peter Larsson29 Edson Braafheid
Walid AttaRobbert Schilder
6 May Mahlangu15 Rosales Roberto
28 Jere Uronen19 Douglas Franco
7 Mattias Lindstrom32 Dedryck Boyata
21 Christoffer AnderssonWout Brama
Ardian Gashi21 Felipe Gutierrez
20 Alejandro Bedoya10 Dusan Tadic
13 Rachid Bouaouzan22 Nacer Chadli
18 Nikola Djurdjic30 Luc Castaignos
Daniel AnderssonSander Boschker 1
23 Erik WahlstedtTim Cornelisse 12
16 Joseph BaffoPeter Wisgerhof 4
5 Daniel NordmarkRasmus Bengtsson 17
25 David AccamDenny Landzaat 7
10 Alvaro Marcio Dos SantosWillem Janssen 14
11 Thomas SorumJerson Cabral 28
David Accam for Alejandro Bedoya (41)
Rasmus Bengtsson for Rosales Roberto (62)
Joseph Baffo for Peter Larsson (46)
Jerson Cabral for Felipe Gutierrez (62)
Erik Wahlstedt for Mattias Lindstrom (78)
Denny Landzaat for Edson Braafheid (83)
Yellow Cards
Mattias Lindstrom (52)
Rosales Roberto (62)
· Squads: Helsingborg | Twente Enschede