Division Two

April 27, 2013


Ayr United

0 - 1


Division Two

14:00 +00:00, April 27, 2013

Somerset Park, Scotland

Referee: G Aitken

Smith heroics in vain

Ayr goalkeeper Graeme Smith saved two penalties but could not prevent his side from losing 1-0 to play-off hopefuls Arbroath.

The visitors made a strong start to the match and should have taken the lead in the 17th minute when they were awarded a penalty for Neil McGregor's foul on Graham Bayne but Smith produced a wonderful save to deny Steven Doris from the spot.

Arbroath were awarded a second penalty in the 56th minute when Jackson Longridge handled in the area but Paul Sheerin's penalty was well saved by Smith.

The Smokies finally took the lead in the 60th minute when Euan Smith got on the end of Daniel Rennie's cross to head home from close range.

Ayr pushed for an equaliser in the closing stages but Arbroath held on to take all three points.

Scoring Summary

Ayr United Arbroath
 Steven Doris (pen miss 17')
 Paul Sheerin (pen miss 56')
 Euan Smith (60')


Ayr United Arbroath
Graeme SmithTony Bullock
Neil McGregorAlexander Keddie
Darren BrownlieColin Hamilton
2 Kyle McAusland5 Michael Travis
Scott McLaughlin11 Paul Sheerin
8 Robbie Crawford4 Lee Sibanda
7 Aaron WyllieRoss Chisholm
3 Jackson Longridge2 David Banjo
10 Anthony Marenghi7 Euan Smith
11 Michael DonaldGraham Bayne
9 Michael Moffat10 Steven Doris
20 Alistair BrownJosh Gray 21
14 Austin McCannStuart Malcolm 16
15 Michael WardrobePatrick Smith 14
12 Mark RobertsDerek Holmes 12
16 Ryan NisbetDaniel Rennie 15
Ryan Nisbet for Michael Moffat (59)
Derek Holmes for Steven Doris (50)
Mark Roberts for Anthony Marenghi (65)
Daniel Rennie for Lee Sibanda (50)
Michael Wardrobe for Aaron Wyllie (72)
Patrick Smith for Graham Bayne (90)
Yellow Cards
Robbie Crawford (41)
Michael Travis (22)
Neil McGregor (62)
· Squads: Ayr United | Arbroath