Division Two

March 16, 2013



1 - 1

Queen of the South

Division Two

15:00 +00:00, March 16, 2013

Gayfield Park, Scotland

Referee: M Tumilty

Clark clinches point for Doonhamers

Nicholas Clark netted a stoppage-time equaliser as Queen of the South preserved their unbeaten run with a 1-1 draw at Arbroath.

The runaway leaders trailed to Euan Smith's 83rd-minute opener, but Clark struck to extend his side's unbeaten run to 14 games.

Scott Morrison was the busier of the two goalkeepers in the first half, denying Daniel Carmichael from outside the area on two occasions.

The home side had lost their last three at home, but created the better chances in the second period. Paul Sheerin was denied from close range by Lee Robinson, before the visiting keeper blocked well from Derek Holmes.

With seven minutes left, Smith found the top corner from 35 yards to give Arbroath the lead.

But they were denied a famous victory - that would have moved them into the play-off places - as Clark bundled the ball in from close range in the third minute of stoppage time.

Scoring Summary

Arbroath Queen of the South
Euan Smith (83')Nicky Clark (90')


Arbroath Queen of the South
1 Scott MorrisonLee Robinson
Mark BaxterRyan McGuffie
Alexander KeddieMarc Fitzpatrick
Colin HamiltonChris Mitchell
5 Michael TravisMark Durnan
11 Paul SheerinPaul Burns
10 Lee SibandaSteven McKenna
Ross Chisholm10 Nicky Clark
4 Brian KerrDerek Lyle
7 Euan Smith11 Daniel Carmichael
Derek HolmesGavin Reilly
21 Tony BullockJim Atkinson 12
16 Stuart MalcolmWilliam Gibson 17
12 Graham BayneKevin Holt 16
14 Steven DorisKevin Smith 15
15 Daniel RennieMichael Paton 14
Graham Bayne for Derek Holmes (74)
Kevin Holt for Marc Fitzpatrick (66)
 Michael Paton for Gavin Reilly (69)
 Kevin Smith for Derek Lyle (79)
Yellow Cards
Michael Travis (66)
Mark Durnan (45)
 Chris Mitchell (85)
· Squads: Arbroath | Queen of the South