Division Two

December 26, 2012


Brechin City

3 - 2


Division Two

14:00 +00:00, December 26, 2012

Glebe Park, Scotland

Referee: G Hilland

Trouten wins it for Hedgemen

Alan Trouten scored the decisive goal as Brechin earned a 3-2 win at home to Arbroath.

Ray McKinnon's men took the lead after eight minutes when Red Lichties defender Stuart Malcolm diverted Trouten's pass into his own net.

The home side doubled their advantage 10 minutes before the break as Paul McLean's drilled 25-yard effort found the back of the net.

Paul Sheerin's 57th-minute strike - a finish into the bottom corner from Derek Holmes' header - halved the arrears before Trouten restored the Hedgemen's two-goal lead after 61 minutes, applying the finish to Derek Carcary's cross.

The visitors came back into the game for a second time, however, three minutes later when top scorer Steven Doris tucked away his 11th goal of the season from the penalty spot after being brought down by Gary Fusco.

Antony Bullock needed to be alert to keep out Trouten's goalbound effort seven minutes later while the visitors failed to arrest a poor run which has now seen them win just one of their last eight games.

Scoring Summary

Brechin City Arbroath
Stuart Malcolm (og 8')Paul Sheerin (57')
Paul McLean (35')Steven Doris (pen 64')
Alan Trouten (61') 


Brechin City Arbroath
Michael AndrewsTony Bullock
7 Alan TroutenMark Baxter
Graham Hay8 Scott Robertson
2 Gerry McLaughlan5 Stuart Malcolm
Ewan MoyesAlexander Keddie
3 Paul McLeanColin Hamilton
6 Gary Fusco11 Paul Sheerin
Craig Molloy7 Lee Sibanda
11 Derek Carcary4 Brian Kerr
Andrew Jackson10 Derek Holmes
10 Kurtis ByrneSteven Doris
20 Craig NelsonDarren Hill 20
16 Garry BradyKeiran Brennan 15
15 Jonathan StewartJoe Prince-Wright 16
12 David McKennaDavid Banjo 12
14 Scott DalzielConnor Birse 14
David McKenna for Kurtis Byrne (69)
David Banjo for Paul Sheerin (80)
Jonathan Stewart for Derek Carcary (86)
Connor Birse for Scott Robertson (80)
Yellow Cards
Ewan Moyes (19)
Colin Hamilton (50)
Paul McLean (29)
Brian Kerr (53)
Gary Fusco (63)
Alan Trouten (76)
Graham Hay (90)
· Squads: Brechin City | Arbroath