Scottish Cup

December 12, 2012



0 - 1


Scottish Cup

19:45 +00:00, December 12, 2012

Gayfield Park, Scotland

Referee: C Charleston


Matthews: Celtic did it tough

Celtic's Adam Matthews credited Arbroath for their showing in tonight's Scottish Cup fifth-round tie, but felt his side deserved their 1-0 win.

The Welshman's brilliant length-of-the-field run and shot earned Celtic a hard-fought win over the part-timers, and he knew he and his team-mates had been tested.

He told Sky Sports 1 after his first goal for the Bhoys: "We knew it would be tough, they played well, but on the balance I think we deserved it.

"We are in four competitions and I think we are strong enough to try and do well."

Arbroath's Steven Doris was named as man of the match and he said: "To be beaten by a goal like that, all you can say is, that`s the sort of quality they have."

Celtic manager Neil Lennon felt his players did the best they could on a muddy Gayfield Park pitch.

He said: "It was a horrible night, the pitch got worse and I was worried about the safety of the players.

"But football is all about getting through to the next round."

On Matthews' goal, he added: "It was a thing of beauty."

Arbroath boss Paul Sheerin was disappointed to see Doris have a goal ruled out for a foul, saying: "I didn't see much. It didn't look like a foul from where I was.

"But I'm delighted with our form and we need to take it into the league."

Scoring Summary

Arbroath Celtic
 Adam Matthews (18')


Arbroath Celtic
1 Scott MorrisonFraser Forster
Mark BaxterKelvin Wilson
8 Scott RobertsonEfe Ambrose
5 Stuart Malcolm23 Mikael Lustig
Alexander KeddieScott Brown
Colin Hamilton21 Charlie Mulgrew
11 Paul Sheerin33 Baram Kayal
7 Lee SibandaEmilio Izaguirre
10 Paul CurrieAdam Matthews
4 Brian KerrGeorgios Samaras
Steven Doris11 Lassed Nouioui
21 Tony BullockLukasz Zaluska 24
15 Derek HolmesVictor Wanyama 67
12 Darren GribbenDylan McGeouch 46
14 Daniel RennieGary Hooper 88
16 Connor BirseNicolas Fedor Ladislao Flores Miku 7
Daniel Rennie for Lee Sibanda (73)
Gary Hooper for Lassed Nouioui (65)
Derek Holmes for Paul Sheerin (76)
Victor Wanyama for Emilio Izaguirre (65)
Connor Birse for Brian Kerr (76)
Dylan McGeouch for Adam Matthews (90)
Yellow Cards
Brian Kerr (41)
Charlie Mulgrew (50)
Stuart Malcolm (51)
Georgios Samaras (85)
Scott Robertson (90)
· Squads: Arbroath | Celtic