Print and go back ESPNsoccernet: Europe Soccernet Print

Wednesday, January 27, 2010
Ronaldo hits out over ''excessive'' punishment

Soccernet staff

Real Madrid's Cristiano Ronaldo thinks his two-match suspension for Sunday's red card against Malaga is excessive and is confident the La Liga club's appeal will succeed.

• Comment: Ronaldo divides opinion
• Agent: Raul could move to England

Ronaldo scored both goals in the 2-0 win at the Bernabeu but was shown a straight red card in the 70th minute after catching Patrick Mtiliga with a flailing arm, breaking the defender's nose.

The Spanish football federation (RFEF) said on Tuesday that the Portugal forward had been suspended and fined €600. They added that if Real's attempts to get the ban reversed are unsuccessful he will miss Saturday's trip to Deportivo Coruna and the home game against Espanyol the following weekend.

"I wasn't impressed (about the suspension), of course," Ronaldo was quoted as saying by As newspaper on Wednesday. "I sincerely believe the punishment is excessive. I am confident in the appeal the club is going to lodge and that the punishment will be reduced."

The RFEF's disciplinary committee decided Ronaldo's actions were not wilful or reckless, which would have meant a longer suspension, but that he had been guilty of dangerous play.

Javier Lopez Farre, Real's legal director, told Cadena Ser radio if the appeal to the RFEF was unsuccessful they would take the case to Spain's Sporting Disciplinary Committee (CEDD), a body overseen by the government sports council (CSD).

"Of course, we would then ask for a postponement (of the ban)," he said. "If the player completes the suspension then it won't help us at all if (the CEDD) rules in our favour."

Real presented evidence to the disciplinary committee which included video footage of an incident earlier this month involving Barcelona forward Lionel Messi trying to shake off a Sevilla opponent who was holding him back. Messi was awarded a free-kick and Real claimed the incident supported their case for Ronaldo's card to be reversed.

The committee ruled, however, that as the referee had not mentioned the Messi incident in his match report it was not relevant and, in any case, no injury had been caused.




ESPNsoccernet: Help | Media Kit | Contact Us | Site Map | Tools | Jobs at ESPN | Supplier Information | Copyright ©2014 ESPN Internet Ventures.
Terms of Use (Updated 5/6/08), and Privacy Policy and Safety Information/Your California Privacy Rights are applicable to you. All rights reserved.