Print and go back ESPNsoccernet: Global Soccernet Print

Thursday, January 17, 2013
Prem trio to compete at Asia Trophy

ESPN staff

Manchester City, Tottenham Hotspur and Sunderland will take part in this summer's Barclays Asia Trophy.

The Premier League trio will be joined by South China FC at the tournament, which runs from July 24-27.

Chelsea are the current holders of the biennial competition, after they beat Aston Villa in the 2011 final, while Tottenham claimed the trophy in 2009.

Premier League chief executive, Richard Scudamore, said: "We are hugely excited to be bringing the Barclays Asia Trophy back to Hong Kong for a third time.

"The 2011 tournament was without doubt our most successful to date and the atmosphere inside the Hong Kong Stadium on both nights was particularly memorable."

Spurs boss Andre Villas-Boas told his side's official website: "The club is delighted to have the opportunity to return to Hong Kong and play in the 2013 Barclays Asia Trophy.

"Over the past few years, we have seen a significant increase in the levels of support the club has across the region. This tournament presents us with an opportunity to thank those fans, as well as introducing new fans to Tottenham Hotspur.

"We are also delighted to have the chance to compete alongside South China FC  a club with which we already enjoy a special relationship."

ESPNsoccernet: Help | Media Kit | Contact Us | Site Map | Tools | Jobs at ESPN | Supplier Information | Copyright ©2014 ESPN Internet Ventures.
Terms of Use (Updated 5/6/08), and Privacy Policy and Safety Information/Your California Privacy Rights are applicable to you. All rights reserved.