Print and go back ESPNsoccernet: null Soccernet Print

Monday, November 5, 2012
Drogba, Toure nominated for African laurel

Press Association

Reigning African Footballer of the Year Yaya Toure has been included on the 10-man shortlist for the 2012 award.

Ivory Coast midfielder Toure claimed the award last year and will be among the favorites once more after playing a starring role as Manchester City became English champions for the first time in 44 years.

He was also instrumental as Ivory Coast reached the final of the African Nations Cup before losing on penalties to Zambia.

Toure's Ivory Coast compatriots Gervinho and Didier Drogba were also shortlisted.

And while Gervinho has had a quiet year at club level with Arsenal, Drogba scored the winning penalty as his former club Chelsea won the Champions League for the first time against Bayern Munich.

Drogba subsequently joined Chinese club Shanghai Shenhua.

Zambia's remarkable title triumph in Gabon and Equatorial Guinea saw captain Christopher Katongo nominated.

He was voted player of the tournament after an inspirational set of displays as his country landed their first continental crown.

Barcelona midfielder Alexander Song, Marseille winger Andre Ayew, Newcastle striker Demba Ba, Chelsea midfielder John Obi Mikel, St Etienne striker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Montpellier's Ligue 1 title-winning forward Younes Belhanda also made the list.

The winner will be announced at a ceremony on December 20 in the Ghanaian capital.

ESPNsoccernet: Help | Media Kit | Contact Us | Site Map | Tools | Jobs at ESPN | Supplier Information | Copyright ©2014 ESPN Internet Ventures.
Terms of Use (Updated 5/6/08), and Privacy Policy and Safety Information/Your California Privacy Rights are applicable to you. All rights reserved.