Wolves 3-1 Wigan

Alcaraz charged by FA for spitting

November 7, 2011
By ESPNsoccernet staff

The Football Association has confirmed Wigan Athletic defender Antolin Alcaraz has been charged for spitting at an opponent.

Antolin Alcaraz
GettyImagesAntolin Alcaraz: Double header for Paraguay

• Alcaraz accused of spitting

Television replays caught Alcaraz spitting at Wolverhampton Wanderers' Richard Stearman during Wigan's 3-1 Premier League loss at Molineux on Sunday.

Referee Lee Probert did not see the incident but the FA has retrospectively acted after reviewing TV footage, with Alcaraz now facing a three-match ban.

A statement from the FA read: "Wigan Athletic's Antolin Alcaraz has today [Monday] been charged by The FA for spitting at an opponent.

"The incident, which was not seen by the match officials but caught on video, relates to his side's game against Wolverhampton Wanderers on Sunday [6 November 2011].

"The player has until 6pm November 8, 2011, to respond to the charge. If the player admits the charge he may accept an automatic three-match suspension."

It was initially thought Alcaraz had spat at Wolves centre-back Christophe Berra but Stearman confirmed he was the player targeted by the Paraguay defender.

Stearman was reluctant to comment, but admitted: ''It wasn't Berra, I'll give you that, but I don't think it's right for me to talk about it at the moment.''

When he was asked if he was spat upon, he replied: ''Yes, but I'm not going to speak about it. I can confirm it happened and that it was me rather than Berra. I'll let other people talk about it and let other people deal with it. I won't push for anything, it's one of those things - but it's not nice.''

Wolves boss Mick McCarthy was furious about the incident.

''Spitting is taboo if that's what happened. I only had it happen to me once and the player didn't come too close to me for a long time after that,'' he said.

''If it has been shown, that is unacceptable behaviour and anyone here who was spat at would act accordingly. If that has happened, he shouldn't be doing it.''

Wigan boss Roberto Martinez added: ''I haven't seen it yet (the replays). If that is the case, I'll look into it and I'll find out.''