France news

Le Graet named FFF president

June 18, 2011

Noel Le Graet has been elected as the new president of the French football federation.

Le Graet had 54.39% of the vote at the FFF federal assembly in Paris on Saturday, beating outgoing president Fernand Duchaussoy (45.40%) and Eric Thomas (0.19%).

He will be at the federation helm until December 2012.

Duchaussoy took over last July following the resignation of Jean-Pierre Escalettes in the wake of France's poor performance at the 2010 World Cup. Les Bleus went on strike at a training session in South Africa and were eliminated at the group stage.