Euro 2012 qualifying draw

England and Wales to meet in Euro qualifiers

February 7, 2010
By Soccernet staff

England will renew their old rivalry with Wales in their Euro 2012 qualifying campaign after the two home nations were drawn together in Group G.

Wayne Rooney plays against  Wales in 2005
GettyImagesWayne Rooney plays against Wales in 2005

• Warshaw: England sitting pretty after Euro draw
• Capello reflects on "tough" draw
• Hiddink on ex-Soviet seperation

The British pair, who last faced each other in a World Cup qualifier in 2005, when England won 1-0 in Cardiff, were placed alongside Switzerland, Bulgaria and Montenegro at Sunday's ceremony in Warsaw, Poland.

Reigning European champions Spain will face Czech Republic, Scotland, Lithuania and Liechtenstein in Group I after being the last team pulled out of the bowl.

World champions Italy will face two 2010 World Cup finalists in Serbia and Slovenia in Group C, which also includes Northern Ireland, Estonia and Faroe Islands.

Germany, runners-up to Spain in the Euro 2008 final, face neighbours Austria as well as Turkey in what should be a straightforward group for them to negotiate into the finals in Poland and Ukraine in two years' time.

France will hope to avoid a repeat of the play-off drama which saw them reach this summer's World Cup after they were handed a relatively kind pool. Romania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Belarus, Albania and Luxembourg are their opponents in Group D.

Holland will face Scandinavian teams Sweden and Finland as well as Hungary, Moldova and San Marino. The Republic of Ireland will meet Russia, Slovakia, FYR Macedonia, Armenia and Andorra in Group B.

Group A Group B Group C
Team Team Team
 Germany  Russia  Italy
 Turkey  Slovakia  Serbia
 Austria  Republic of Ireland  Northern Ireland
 Belgium  FYR Macedonia  Slovenia
 Kazakhstan  Armenia  Estonia
 Azerbaijan  Andorra  Faroe Islands

Group D Group E Group F
Team Team Team
 France  Netherlands  Croatia
 Romania  Sweden  Greece
 Bosnia-Herzegovina  Finland  Israel
 Belarus  Hungary  Latvia
 Albania  Moldova  Georgia
 Luxembourg  San Marino  Malta

Group G Group H Group I
Team Team Team
 England  Portugal  Spain (holders)
 Switzerland  Denmark  Czech Republic
 Bulgaria  Norway  Scotland
 Wales  Cyprus  Lithuania
 Montenegro  Iceland  Liechtenstein