player of the year debate

Taylor defends award voting system

April 27, 2009

Gordon Taylor has defended the voting system for the Professional Footballers' Association Player of the Year award that Ryan Giggs received.

Ashley Young, Ryan Giggs, John McDermott
Empics / DanielHamburyAshley Young, Ryan Giggs and John McDermott were the winners on the night

Selections are made in March when there is plenty of the season left to be played but PFA chief executive Taylor insists the right choice is normally made

"It used to be earlier," Taylor told Sky Sports News. "It used to coincide with the Carling Cup final because that is virtually the start of the last lap.

"It's all about convenience and practicality. Sometimes there are a rush of commitments at the end of the season.

"We will stand up and be counted over the players' choice. If you look at the winners, there will not be many times they get it wrong."

Giggs' award has been seen as a fitting way to mark the example he has set over this season and since his debut in 1991, while Ashley Young received the Young Player of the Year award.

The PFA Premier League XI, however, did not include Chelsea midfielder Frank Lampard, who by his own estimation is having his best season, but his team-mate Nicolas Anelka was selected despite not scoring since February.

The voting system looks unlikely to be changed in the near future, according to Taylor.

The PFA chief executive added: "You can never say never but the award for Ryan was so well received and he got one of the longest standing ovations."