Boyaca Chico crowned Colombian champions

July 7, 2008

TUNJA, July 7 (Apertura) - Boyaca Chico were crowned Colombian champions for the first time in their history after a 4-2 penalty shoot-out win over America after a 2-2 aggregate tie.

Boyaca Chico netted all four penalties - with Miguel Caneo, Oscar Diaz, Pino Moreno and Ever Palacios on target - while Adrian Ramos and Paulo Arango each failed from the spot after the match had finished 1-1.

Miguel Caneo had netted a first-half penalty for the hosts, who had Juan Mahecha sent-off with 11 minutes to go.

Luis Tejada levelled from the penalty spot for America, who had Armero dismissed late on before losing in the shoot-out.