Battery oust Dynamo in penalty shootout

July 1, 2008

The Charleston Battery defeated the Houston Dynamo in a penalty shootout Tuesday night at Blackbaud Stadium in their U.S. Open Cup matchup. The game finished tied 1-1 after overtime with Charleston playing the final 20 minutes with only nine players, following two red card ejectons.

The Dynamo rested their usual starters and fielded a side filled with mostly reserve players. The Battery took the lead from a header by defender Marco Reda in the 31st minute. Reda almost scored again when his volley in the 68th minute cannoned off the crossbar.

In the second half the Battery had two players sent off (Chris Corcoran and Reda) and the Dynamo equalized with a goal in the 89th minute by Chris Wondolowski. After a scoreless extra time period, the Battery prevailed in the shootout going four for four with goals from Osvaldo Alonso, Stephen Armstrong, Darren Spicer and Tim Velten. For the Dynamo both Geoff Cameron and Franco Caraccio missed as the Battery eliminated Houston from the Open Cup for the second year in succession.