Ireland squad named for Lansdowne farewell

November 7, 2006

DUBLIN, Nov 7 (Reuters) - Ireland manager Steve Staunton has named a 23-man squad for next week's Euro 2008 Group D qualifier against San Marino in Dublin.

Ireland meet San Marino at Lansdowne Road, Dublin, on Nov. 15 in what is expected to be the last international soccer match at the ground before its redevelopment.


Goalkeepers: Shay Given (Newcastle United), Wayne Henderson (Brighton), Nicky Colgan (Barnsley);

Defenders: Stephen Carr (Newcastle United), Steve Finnan (Liverpool), Paul McShane (West Bromwich Albion), Richard Dunne (Manchester City), Stephen Kelly (Birmingham), Andy O'Brien (Portsmouth)

Midfielders: Jonathan Douglas (Leeds United), Lee Carsley (Everton), Aiden McGeady (Celtic), Damien Duff (Newcastle United), Kevin Kilbane (Wigan Athletic), John O'Shea (Manchester United), Alan Quinn (Sheffield United), Andy Reid (Charlton Athletic), Stephen Ireland (Manchester City)

Forwards: Robbie Keane (Tottenham Hotspur), Kevin Doyle (Reading), Alan Lee (Ipswich Town), Stephen Elliott (Sunderland), Clinton Morrison (Crystal Palace).