Zidane not sent off on video evidence - FIFA

July 10, 2006

FIFA have insisted video replays played no part in Zinedine Zidane being sent off in Sunday night's World Cup final.

The France captain was red-carded after head-butting Marco Materazzi's chest and Italy went on to win on penalties after the match finished 1-1.

The off-the-ball incident was missed by Argentinian referee Horacio Elizondo and his linesmen, but was spotted by the fourth official Luis Medina Cantalejo from Spain.

France coach Raymond Domenech suggested that the fourth official only took action after seeing a video replay - something that is not permitted under the rules of the game.

But FIFA spokesman Andreas Herren said: 'The fourth referee saw the incident with his own eyes and told the referee and the assistant referee directly though their headsets.'

FIFA say although the fifth official does have a TV monitor, he is not permitted to intervene, and the fourth official has no access to video replays.

In his post-match interview, Domenech claimed: 'The referee saw nothing, the assistant referee saw nothing and then we have the fourth official saying to the referee what happened. We have video replays in football and then the fourth official tips off the referee.'