Klose confession sees goal ruled out
Lazio's Miroslav Klose admitted handling the ball before what would have been the opening goal of his side's game against Napoli, leading the officials to rule the 'goal' out.
The Germany international striker used his hand to beat Morgan De Sanctis to a corner - but confessed to his offence when the officials awarded a goal, and then saw Edinson Cavani score a hat-trick as Napoli went top of Serie A .
Napoli coach Walter Mazzarri praised his team's efforts, and told Sky Italia Klose had owned up because he knew he could have been retrospectively punished.
He said: "The whole team played a great game, and I am happy with everyone at Napoli tonight. I told the side that we could lose this evening, because Lazio are a great side, but the important thing was to see the right attitude and character on the field. That is what I saw tonight."
"It was a nice gesture from Klose, but I think it was also thanks to the rules that he owned up. He knew that it would be caught on camera and he'd be punished afterwards."