FIFA Ballon d'Or ceremony

Real Madrid snub FIFA awards

January 6, 2012
By ESPNsoccernet staff

Real Madrid duo Cristiano Ronaldo and Jose Mourinho will not attend Monday's FIFA Ballon d'Or ceremony in Switzerland, when Barcelona's Lionel Messi is expected to scoop the award for a third successive time.

Lionel Messi
GettyImagesLionel Messi is the World Player of the Year

Ronaldo is short-listed for the World Player of the Year award, along with Xavi Hernandez and Messi, while Real manager Mourinho is up for the FIFA Coach of the Year award, alongside Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson and Barca coach Pep Guardiola.

Real Madrid claim that their Copa del Rey match against Malaga on Tuesday has prevented the club from sending any representatives to the ceremony in Zurich, meaning Team of the Year nominees Iker Casillas, Sergio Ramos and Xabi Alonso also miss out.

A Los Blancos spokesperson said: "Madrid would like to be in Zurich, but we cannot go against those who control the match calendar."

You can follow the FIFA Ballon d'Or ceremony on ESPNsoccernet's live stream on Monday evening.