Australia news

Kewell, Emerton back for Socceroos

November 2, 2011

Harry Kewell has been recalled to the Socceroos for their next two World Cup qualifiers along with fellow big names Brett Emerton and Mark Schwarzer.

Harry Kewell
GettyImagesHarry Kewell is one of three A-League players in the squad

Coach Holger Osieck on Wednesday included glamour A-League recruits Kewell and Emerton and Premier League goalkeeper Schwarzer in his 23-man squad for the away matches against Oman on November 11 and Thailand on November 15.

Aston Villa defender Chris Herd is in line for his international debut after being called up to the squad for the first time. And Mitch Nichols is recalled after sparkling form in Brisbane Roar's great start to their A-League title defence.

Osieck did not use Kewell and Emerton for the home match against Oman last month, preferring to let them gain needed match fitness with their A-League clubs. The pair, along with Nichols, are the only A-League players in the squad, but Osieck warned he is expecting better form than the duo have displayed since returning home.

"I ask a lot more of them other than they have produced so far," Osieck said. "But knowing their value and what they can bring to the team I invited them."

Osieck stopped short of saying he was disappointed in the Australian veterans but was adamant he would pick his match day sides on form.

"I didn't say disappointed, I said I expect a lot more, I think there's a slight distinction there to be made. There's no guarantee [they'll play] at all, I'm pretty much performance-related."

Alex Brosque (Shimizu S-Pulse, Japan), Nathan Coe (Snderjysk Elitesport, Denmark), Brett Emerton (Sydney FC, Australia), Adam Federici (Reading FC, England), Chris Herd (Aston Villa, England), Brett Holman (AZ Alkmaar, Netherlands), Mile Jedinak (Crystal Palace FC, England), Josh Kennedy (Nagoya Grampus, Japan), Harry Kewell (Melbourne Victory, Australia), Neil Kilkenny (Bristol City FC, England), Robbie Kruse (Fortuna Dusseldorf, Germany), Matt McKay (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland), Lucas Neill (Al-Jazira Club, UAE), Mitch Nichols (Brisbane Roar, Australia), Sasa Ognenovski (Seongham Ilwha Chunma, Korea Repuvlic), Adam Sarota (FC Utrecht, Netherlands), Mark Schwarzer (Fulham FC, England), Matthew Spiranovic (Urawa Red Diamonds, Japan), James Troisi (Kayserispor Kulubu, Turkey), Carl Valeri (U.S. Sassuolo Calcio, Italy), Luke Wilkshire (FK Dinamo Moscow, Russia), Rhys Williams (Middlesbrough FC, England), Michael Zullo (FC Utrecht, Netherlands)