Euro 2016 news

Euro 2016 qualifying process outlined

December 20, 2013
By Stephan Uersfeld, Germany Correspondent

UEFA has revealed the qualifying process for the 2016 European Championship in France.

Spain won their third major trophy in succession as they beat Italy in the Euro 2012 final
PA PhotosSpain claimed European glory in 2012.

The 2016 European Championship takes place in France from June 10 to July 10 and will be played in 10 different stadiums around the country.

For the first time in the competition’s history 24 nations will play for the international title.

The hosts France will automatically qualify, and a record field of 53 nations, including debutants Gibraltar, will play for the 23 places at the tournament.

A total of nine groups will be drawn in Nice on February 23, 2014. The top two teams from each group will qualify for France 2016.

The best third-placed nation will also progress, while the other eight third-placed teams will playoff for the four remaining places.

UEFA also revealed the introduction of the “week of football” for the qualification phase. This scheduling format involves matches being played from Thursday to Tuesday.

The majority of kickoff times will be set at 18.00 CET and 20.45 CET on Saturdays and Sundays, and at 20.45 CET on other days. On double-header matchweeks, teams will play on Thursday and Sunday, or Friday and Monday, or Saturday and Tuesday.

“This makes the competition clearer,” UEFA general secretary Gianni Infantino said.


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.