Young Socceroos U20 World Cup squad named

April 17, 2013

Three young stars from A-League grand finalists Central Coast and Western Sydney have been selected in a 24-man Young Socceroos squad for this year's FIFA under-20 World Cup.

Wanderers' Reece Caira and Yianni Perkatis, as well as Hayden Morton of the Mariners, will head to a five-day training camp with the extended side on the Central Coast a day after Sunday's decider.

The camp, the first since the AFC under-19 championships last year, is step one of head coach Paul Okon's final selection phase for the World Cup in Turkey.

"There are some new faces in this squad that will have the opportunity to experience the national team set-up for the first time as well," Okon said on Thursday.

"The competition for places in the final World Cup squad will be high and we need the players to show themselves in these camps."

The Young Socceroos have been drawn in Group C for the tournament, which kicks off on June 21.

They will play their first group match against Colombia on day two of competition, followed by El Salvador on June 25 and host nation Turkey three days later.

Young Socceroos squad: Nicholas Ansell (Melbourne Victory), Terry Antonis (Sydney FC), Anthony Bouzanis (gk, Sydney FC), Joshua Brillante (Newcastle Jets), Corey Brown (Brisbane Roar), Reece Caira (Western Sydney Wanderers), Connor Chapman (Newcastle Jets), Daniel Da Silva (Perth Glory), James Donachie (Brisbane Roar), Jack Duncan (gk, Newcastle Jets), Scott Galloway (Melbourne Victory), Corey Gameiro (Wellington Phoenix), Ben Garuccio (Melbourne Heart), Jason Geria (Melbourne Victory), Andrew Hoole (Newcastle Jets), Paul Izzo (gk, Adelaide United), Jesse Makarounas (Melbourne Victory), Hayden Morton (Central Coast Mariners), Connor Pain (Melbourne Victory), Yianni Perkatis (Western Sydney Wanderers), Adam Taggart (Newcastle Jets), David Vrankovic (Melbourne Heart), Jeremy Walker (Melbourne Heart), Kwame Yeboah (Brisbane Roar).