Victory, Glory go into A-League extra-time

April 17, 2013

Melbourne Victory have grabbed a late penalty to send their A-League elimination final against Perth Glory at Etihad Stadium into extra-time after a 1-1 draw.

The Victory trailed for most of the match to a spirited Glory, who netted in the 15th minute through Japanese winger Ryo Nagai.

But after the Glory appeared in control and on the way to the next stage of finals, a missed Shane Smeltz penalty which could have put them two-up in the dying minutes was followed by a Victory penalty in the last minute of normal time.

Referee Jarred Gillett adjudged Glory defender Steve Pantelidis to have pulled Victory attacker Andrew Nabbout's shoulder, awarded a spot-kick, and sent Pantelidis off.

Victory's Mark Milligan slotted home the equaliser to send the match to extra-time, with penalties to follow if there is no clear winner.