Netherlands news

Van Marwijk names Dutch squad

May 26, 2012
By ESPN staff

Willems came into the PSV team to replace the injured Pieters

Netherlands coach Bert Van Marwijk has named a couple of surprise picks in his final 23-man squad for Euro 2012, with veteran Wilfried Bouma and uncapped Jetro Willems included for the tournament.

Van Marwijk has cut his initial 27-man squad down ahead of Saturday’s friendly encounter with Bulgaria in Amsterdam, with Siem de Jong, Vurnon Anita, Jeremain Lens and youngster Adam Maher missing out.

Bouma, 33, is a shock inclusion, having not appeared for the Dutch side since the last European Championship in 2008, while the alternative at left-back, Jetro Willems, is uncapped at international level.

The dilemma comes following the broken foot sustained by first-choice Erik Pieters earlier this year, with the PSV Eindhoven man replaced at club level by the inexperienced Willems.

Netherlands can, though, call upon an array of talent in their final squad, with Arjen Robben, Robin Van Persie and Wesley Sneijder three of the most feared names in European football.

Netherlands squad:

Goalkeepers: Maarten Stekelenburg (Roma), Tim Krul (Newcastle United), Michel Vorm (Swansea City).

Defenders: Khalid Boulahrouz (Stuttgart), Wilfred Bouma (PSV), John Heitinga (Everton), Joris Mathijsen (Malaga), Ron Vlaar (Feyenoord), Gregory van der Wiel (Ajax), Jetro Willems (PSV).

Midfielders: Ibrahim Afellay (Barcelona), Mark van Bommel (PSV), Nigel de Jong (Manchester City), Stijn Schaars (Sporting), Wesley Sneijder (Inter Milan), Kevin Strootman (PSV, Rafael van der Vaart (Tottenham).

Forwards: Klaas Jan Huntelaar (Schalke), Luuk de Jong (FC Twente), Dirk Kuyt (Liverpool), Luciano Narsingh (Heerenveen), Robin van Persie (Arsenal), Arjen Robben (Bayern Munich).