Euro 2012 news

Denmark call up Okore and Pedersen

Morten Olsen selects final pair to complete Denmark's Euro 2012 squad.

ESPN staff

Jores Okore has enjoyed a fine season for Danish champs FC Nordsjælland© Getty Images

FC Nordsjælland centre-back Jores Okore and Groningen forward Nicklas Pedersen have been added to Denmark's squad for next month's European Championship.

Morten Olsen had already confirmed 21 of the 23 members of his travelling party for Poland and Ukraine, but has now finalised the list.

Okore, 19, enjoyed an excellent campaign at the heart of Danish champions Nordsjælland's defence, and will have the opportunity to add to his two previous international caps - won in friendlies against Sweden and Finland last November.

Pedersen, 24, played three times for Denmark in qualifying for the finals but has yet to score in seven appearances for the national team.

"After a very good year, Jores has been nominated as one of four central defenders in the squad," Olsen said. "Regarding Nicklas, we have never doubted his qualities, but we have been in doubt about his physical condition. During the training sessions in Helsingør he has not only confirmed his technical skills and his goalscoring abilities, but we also tested him to the extreme physically and he has passed."

Denmark were drawn in the trickiest group on paper at Euro 2012 and start their campaign against Netherlands on June 9 before facing Portugal and Germany in Group B.

Denmark squad:

Goalkeepers: Thomas Sorensen (Stoke City), Stephan Andersen (Evian), Anders Lindegaard (Manchester United).

Defenders: Lars Jacobsen (FC Copenhagen), Daniel Wass (Evian), Daniel Agger (Liverpool), Simon Kjær (Roma), Andreas Bjelland (FC Nordsjælland), Simon Poulsen (AZ), Jores Okore (FC Nordsjælland).

Midifelders: Christian Poulsen (Evian), Jakob Poulsen (FC Midtjylland), William Kvist (Nurnberg), Niki Zimling (Club Brugge), Thomas Kahlenberg (Evian ), Christian Eriksen (Ajax), Michael Silberbauer (Young Boys), Lasse Schone (NEC Nijmegen).

Forwards: Dennis Rommedahl (Brondby), Nicklas Bendtner (Arsenal), Michael Krohn-Dehli (Brondby), Tobias Mikkelsen (FC Nordsjælland), Nicklas Pedersen (Groningen).


To comment, you must be a registered user. Please Sign In or Register