European Nations Cup 1968

May 1, 2008
Host nation: Italy
Winners: Italy

An expanded tournament with just two members of the UEFA confederation not entering in Iceland and Malta, meaning a new system was required. Mini-leagues were set up with the four home nations in World champions England, Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales being placed together as UEFA seeded eight teams, of which one was the West Germans in their first appearance in the competition.

Just like England's debut four years earlier, their ...

Read more

ESPN Conversations