History of the FIFA Women's World Cup

August 17, 2007
By ESPNsoccernet
First conceived by the then-FIFA President Joao Havelange in 1989, the Women's World Cup has, in less than a decade, evolved from one man's ambition into the premier event in women's football across the globe. The dream came to life at the inaugural tournament in November 1991 hosted by China. It featured 12 teams from six continents battling it out in a series of games to be crowned the first-ever Women's World Champion. The competition began with a group stage splitting the 12 competing nations ...

Read more

ESPN Conversations