Akers, Caligiuri and Wynalda honored

May 5, 2004
CARSON, Calif. -- Michelle Akers, Paul Caligiuri and Eric Wynalda were chosen Wednesday for induction into the U.S. Soccer Hall of Fame.

The trio will be inducted at Oneonta, N.Y., on Oct. 9.

Akers, the third woman selected for the hall, had both goals for the United States when it won the Women's World Cup in 1991.

She also scored the first goal in the history of the U.S. women's team, and her 105 goals for the national team include the decisive score ...

Read more

ESPN Conversations