Confederations Cup news

Ref admits error in allowing Italy goal

June 23, 2013
By Associated Press


RIO DE JANEIRO -- FIFA says the referee who awarded Italy a goal after first whistling for a penalty in Saturday's match against Brazil acknowledges making the wrong call.



Referee Ravshan Irmatov blew his whistle to award Italy a penalty. Moments later, as play continued, Giorgio Chiellini scored. Irmatov was seen pointing at the penalty spot and then giving a goal.



FIFA spokesman Pekka Odriozola said: "He has admitted he made ...

Read more

ESPN Conversations